High PH and high Ammonia cloudy green water

Reaction score
Country
Spain
Hi all ,, well pond was Fantastic until last summer ,, firstly we had a huge 2 day downpour in southern Spain and lots of sand went into pond ..
Secondly it's only my 3rd year and a complete novice ,,
Running a sun sun auto clean filter and 12000ltrs pump both complimentary also 11 watt uv and a stand alone 34 watt uv .. so sand and a explosion of fish ,, and I know it's not right but I must have 500 fish ,,
So green water steadily and tested with new kit and it awful ..
So catching fish and next week I want to ph lower and ammonia reduce pond maybe use a flocculent ,, it's had loads ( maybe too many plants ,,, is there such a thing ? ) take sand out later and clean all properly from scratch but for now it's keep fish alive ..
How to Start is my question ,,
Treat the water for ammonia and ph and Nitrite once better hit it with a flocculunt and hoover for now ,,, later perhaps in November when cooler ,, catch all fish and perhaps build a floating planting as well ,,,
I am just worried about the fish started to lose some and also have couple sturgeon and grass carp they have gotten quite big ,,,
Help please on order of treatment of water ,, in case I get it wrong for fish

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
What are the actual numbers for your water tests?

If the pH is not over 10, it's not too high.

Ammonia is more toxic at a higher pH than at a lower pH, but you need to correct the source of the problem and not try to just lower the pH, if it's even too high. If you don't fix what is causing the problem, the pH will just jump up again and add more stress to your already stressed fish.

You have a crazy number of fish. How big is the pond? Do you have enough water and filtration for 500 fish? I suspect not.

Reaction score
Country
Spain
1000015481.jpg

Reaction score
Country
Spain

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240701_193357_Amazon Shopping.jpg