Questions from those with Oase box style filters

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,
I just recently added an Oase Biotec ScreenMatic 24000 with Bitron 50 UV and Eco Premium 4500 to my pond.
This is extreme overkill for filtration for now, but I wanted to get it pumping while excavating for my expansion.

I ran 2” hose to the filter from the pump and stepped down the 4” outlet to 3” for ease of use.
This thing just pumps sooooo much turbulent water into the pond that it has me second guessing my purchase.

What does everyone do with these u slightly outlet pipes and if I feed over rocks for a waterfall, will it slow down the turbity of just coming straight from a pipe?
Video for reference:
Test run of my new Oase pond filtration.#Oase #fitzfishponds #koi #koipond #shorts

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

How long will it be before your new pond is ready? I am NOT an expert on this by any means, so can only speak from personal experience.

Does your pump have a flow regulator, or is there some way you can control the flow to the filter like adding in-line valves? I used a “Y” connector and added valves so I could run my pump to multiple features (my filter, and to a bog). I was able to control the amount of flow to each feature, separately. Something like this.

IMG_0804.jpeg

Reaction score
Country
United States
That seems like an easy one to me, just buy a more energy efficient pump to both save $ and reduce gph. That said it did not look like too much to me, I would just move that to a new spot and create a new water fall / stream back into the pond.

Reaction score
Country
United States
oh, and be careful with reducing the 4 inch to 3 inch pipe, outflows are likely oversized for a reason, to avoid overflow, especially if you extend the 3 inch pipe any longer.

Reaction score
Country
United States
So a few responses here: