Hi from France

Reaction score
Country
France
Hi

I'm a pond newb.

I live in France with my wife and a goldfish which has a name but which I have a forgotten. We inherited it from a neighbour's fairground win when we still had children but which has outgrown it's tank and the children have gone. I'm building it a pond to give it a little more room than the current 4x2 fish lengths that it has to swim about in now. The pond hole is about 6m (yards) long x 4.5m (yds) wide by 1m (yd) deep with a shelf at the near end so any frogs/toads that might end up in the pond can avoid drowning and what will be a waterfall at the far end. I estimate it is 1.5 cubic meters (or yards).

I have a liner 1mm epdm, a pump and a UV filter that some bloke I know sold me for a reasonable price and I have bought a filter box on ebay which (I hope) is coming next week. I'm looking to get some underlay as we have a couple of three year old peach trees that my wife grew from the stones of commercial peaches perhaps 1-2 m (yds) away and a laurel hedge along the right hand side. I guess I'm going for some thinnish stuff as there are not too many stones in the clay hole (although if anyone has any thoughts I'd definitely consider them. Thanks in advance). I've also been told that I will need to oxygenate the water even though I plan to have a waterfall so I will be slowly looking to buy some sort of air pump as I construct the pond.

That's about it!

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-15 at 20.00.04.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-15 at 20.01.29.jpeg

Last edited:
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome
The question about aerating is true but it depends on One how many fish , what type, and how large. aLSO HOW LARGE IS THE WATERFALL AND HOW MANY GALLONS PER HOUR are going over the falls.

JRS

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States