Depth of Intake Bay?

YShahar

Enthusiastic duct-tape engineer
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
Israel
Hi Pondering Ponders,

Any received wisdom on the depth of an intake bay? I'm a bit constrained in terms of surface area, having a space of about 1 meter square to work with. If need be, I could even make the intake bay 1.5 meters long, though I'm not sure if anything would be gained by that.

The question now is: how deep do I need to make it?

Also, is there any reason to use Aquablox (or my local equivalent -- milk crates) rather than just putting a "centipede" style pipe along the bottom and connecting that to my DIY pump vault? My thinking is that if I go the pipe route (assuming I can find a culvert-style pump that would work) I could simply slope the bottom towards the pipe and fill with the various grades of rock. Any drawbacks to this approach?

Cheers!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I don't have an intake bay, but I studied them extensively before choosing the negative edge. The important thing really is surface area. Depth is not very critical as long as it's not too shallow.

The way aquascape inc designs them, they look for 1 gallon of storage per GPM of the pumping system. So, if pumping 5,000 GPH, that's about 85 GPM, so you need about 85 gallons of storage capacity. They also spec the weir to be about 1' wide per 8,000 GPH and to plan for about 6" of water depth over the weir. But the shallower the weir depth is, the better the surface draw you'll get, but less flexibility on water level fluctuation.

Check out ozponds on Youtube. He designed his intake bay the way you're talking about—used a culvert half-pipe sold one of their building supply stores (he's in australia) and connected to a 40 gallon olive barrel for a pump vault. Seems to work great for him.

YShahar

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
Israel