Bulk Koi food

Don

Reaction score
I am fairly new at the ponding stuff and looking for a supplier for good quality bulk Koi food. I am in the Houston area. What do you suggest?

Don

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
What kind are you looking for? brand name, protein %, I split a 40# bag with my dealer, he buys 6 bags at a time, I buy 20# and he bags up 10 -2# bags and it ends up running me about $50 for 40% protein 10% Fat 4% Fiber BLACKWATER Gold and Professional. I also use a mix in of Hikari Gold Color enhancing from early April until late Sept, Then I start weaning back and changing over to less protein and higher for for the winter. Finishing out at the end of the season with wheat germ. I found to get all the different foods I wanted to use it was easier to find someone that would split costs that wanted to use similar food products. My dealer has heated tanks so he feeds year round and I have to get wheat germ pellets myself but I get them from him as he has other customers that use them too.

Don

Reaction score
Ordered a 20# bag from Arthur Aquatics for $40. Here are the ingredients. What do you think?

Guaranteed Analysis:

Crude Protein.....Min. 36.0%
Crude Fat...........Min. 6.0%
Crude Fiber........Max. 5.0%
Phosphorus........Min. 0.75%